Resources

How to Remove a Device from Netflix

Remove a Device from Netflix

Netflix allows to download shows on up to four devices and if you’re someone who likes to download a movie/video before watching to skip the hassle of buffering, you’ll need to deauthorize or remove a device from Netflix before adding any more device.

Most of the people use free Netflix account, they just ask their friends or family members to share their Netflix Id and password to access the entertainment packed shows without paying for their own subscription.

Remove a Device from Netflix

Netflix’s algorithm is designed in such a way that one user’s watch history won’t impact others to watch history or content recommendations. But, what happens when you have reached the limit but you still want to share the credentials with someone special? Or what if you’ve shared your log in credentials with your partner and you want to regain the access post break up. You’ll need to remove one device from Netflix. There are plenty of reasons for removing a device from Netflix. Consider deactivating a device if you want to temporarily disable someone to use your account and then re-activate when you think it’s time to give access to them again.

What is Netflix?

Launched on 29th August 1997, Netflix is a streaming service that allows people to watch a wide variety of TV shows and movies on the internet. The streaming service was launched in 2007.

It operates on a subscription model. Based on the plan a user chooses, s/he is provided with the access to shows, movies, and other content available on Netflix.

Netflix launched a Netflix Original in 2013 to evade the cost of licensing the contents. It involves huge production costs but is also loved by its viewers and hence increasing the profit of Netflix.

How does it work?

Netflix has a huge amount of data stored in its server. It uses a CDN (content delivery network) to store and transmit movies. Netflix installs boxes called Open Connect Appliances either within the ISPs or at exchange points. These can hold up to 280 TB of videos. This is what enables users to access Netflix in a speedy manner. Each appliance is capable of supporting around 13,000 people streaming on Netflix at the same time on HD.

The main source of profit for Netflix is its subscription. Netflix earns about $950 million per month from over 100 million members in 190 countries. The main target market of Netflix is people of 17-60 years old and with income levels of $30,000 and up.

How much does it cost?

Netflix offers three different plans basic, standard, and premium. The basic plan is priced at $9 per month. It allows the user to use only 1 device at a time and watch videos in SD resolution. The standard plan of Netflix is priced at $13 per month. It gives access to 2 devices at a time and allows to watch the video in HD resolution. The premium plan is the costliest plan of Netflix but provides access to 4 devices at a time and allows them to watch videos in HD and Ultra HD resolution. It costs $16 per month. Choose a plan depending on what resolution you would like to watch and how many people will use your account at the same time.

How to remove a device?

If you have shared your log in credentials with someone and now want to revoke access to your account then read the following steps to remove a device from Netflix.

Go to Netflix.com and log in to your account. Click on My Account which can be found by hovering on your profile picture (green icon if you haven’t set your profile picture). Click on manage devices and computers which can be found in your streaming plan section. Click disconnect device on the one which you want to remove, then click disconnect when prompted.

You can also click on sign out from all device to remove the device and then change the password of your Netflix account. However, you can re-activate the deactivated device by using Netflix’s online account management tools.

Conclusion

Netflix, being the most popular online streaming platform, spends billions on marketing and producing exclusive content. However, most of people use free Netflix account by using someone else’s account. If you’re someone who has shared the login credentials with someone, it’s time to regain access to your account by removing them from your Netflix account. Follow the above-mentioned steps and you will be able to keep your account to yourself. You can temporarily disable their access to your account as well by deactivating their account.

About the author

Deepak

After working as digital marketing consultant for 4 years Deepak decided to leave and start his own Business. To know more about Deepak, find him on Facebook, Google+, LinkedIn now.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

pressly

We’re Social

Categories

###