Sunday, October 2, 2022
HomeResourcesThe 3 Classes of DUI in Arizona and Their Consequences

The 3 Classes of DUI in Arizona and Their Consequences

Understanding the 3 Classes of DUI in Arizona and Their Consequences

Your first thought after getting pulled over for suspicion of driving under the influence may be an acronym. These acronyms can keep you from feeling completely lost if you’re just about to face your first DUI arrest. You’ve probably heard about the different classes of DUI before, and you may have even wondered what their significance is. The three main classes of DUI in Arizona include: What exactly do these classifications mean? What are the consequences of being convicted under each category? And most importantly, how can this information be used to avoid heavier penalties?

The 3 Classes of DUI in Arizona and Their Consequences

Basic DUI

Basic DUI is the most common type of DUI in Arizona. As you can probably guess, this refers to a DUI arrest wherein the driver’s BAC falls somewhere between .08 and .15. Common penalties for a basic DUI include:

  • Fine of not less than $1,250 for a first offense.
  • Jail time of 10 days
  • Educational classes.
  • License suspension.
  • Community service.

The driver’s license suspension duration depends on whether this is the first DUI or a subsequent violation. If it is the first time being arrested for DUI, you can usually expect a suspension of about 90 days. A subsequent offense can lead to a year behind the wheel without a license. On the bright side, you can get a restricted license after 30 days.

Extreme DUI

Extreme DUI is the most severe type of DUI in Arizona and refers to a BAC of 0.15 or higher. Common penalties for extreme DUI include:

  • Fines of not less than $2,500.
  • Jail time of not less than 30 consecutive days.
  • Educational classes.
  • Community service.

A first extreme DUI can lead to a 1-year license suspension, and a subsequent can result in 2 years without a license. In addition, many first-time extreme DUI offenders must install an ignition interlock device (or IID) on their vehicle. An extreme DUI is a serious charge that can tremendously impact your life.

Aggravated DUI

This is the most severe type of DUI in Arizona and refers to a BAC of 0.20 or higher. This category of DUI applies to individuals who commit a DUI while their licenses are suspended or revoked, commit a DUI for the third time in 84 months, commit a DUI while a minor is in the vehicle, or refuse to submit a blood alcohol test while under an ignition interlock. Penalties for this category of DUI include:

  • Imprisonment for up to two years.
  • Three years license suspension.

Conclusion

Drivers who drive under the influence are a threat to themselves and others on the road. If you got hurt in an accident involving a drunk driver, it is important to contact a drunk driving accident lawyer. A personal injury lawyer with a focus on drunk driving can help you understand your case, build a strong defense, and protect your rights throughout the court process. Remember, always approach a local lawyer. For example, if you reside in Phoenix, contact Phoenix drunk driving accident lawyers. Hiring a local lawyer can benefit you in numerous ways.

Deepak
Deepakhttps://www.techicy.com
After working as digital marketing consultant for 4 years Deepak decided to leave and start his own Business. To know more about Deepak, find him on Facebook, LinkedIn now.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Follow Us

Most Popular